//
you're reading...
Personal

A Year In Review

The post title is apropos because I actually just had my yearly review at work.

I had drafted this post in my head, and then put pen to paper, so to speak, on my iPhone’s wordpress app, only to have an errant foursquare checkin pop up and interrupt my work. I meant to close the popup window, but actually ended up opening the foursquare app, and effectively closing the wordpress app, instead.

Now multitasking yet, so my brilliant (I assure you, it was, and there’s no proof otherwise in any case) post is off in the aether, and I’m far too lazy to try to craft it again from memory.

My social life has taken over my waking life, and when I’m not at work, I’m fulfilling some sort of long-ago agreed upon social obligation.

I’m happiest when I’m busy, don’t get me wrong, but I’m slowly starting to feel a little burnt out, and I’ve been on edge lately and the culprit is more than likely the pitiable levels of sleep I’m been subsisting on.

I’ve rediscovered my love of cooking, something that’s a little less exciting when you’re just cooking for yourself because it just mean’s you’ve got a week’s worth of leftovers. As it is, I buy my lunch because I’ve got a freezer filled with leftover casseroles, mac and cheese and leftover beef stews that I can’t stomach eating day in and day out.

On the subject of cooking for myself, I’ll let you in on a little secret: I’ve been dating, but not that online stuff I dabbled in very briefly, but someone that’s essentially been on the backburner this whole time because I was really hesitant to make a commitment. That’s pretty much all I’ll say about the subject, save for the fact that it’s working really well and I’m excited about it. I tend to not want to talk about relationship stuff if I have no complaints.

I celebrated another anniversary* at work recently: it has been a little over a year since I joined the company. I had a few stumbling blocks, but my personal and professional growth has really accelerated in the first and second quarters of the fiscal year.

I was recently promoted, and I’m already knee deep in more responsibility, but loving ever new challenge that presents itself. We talked about my developmental goals for teh next 12 months, and my boss padded my already inflated ego. I also mentioned that I felt as though my supervisor was sort of holding me back development-wise, though I suspect it’s entirely unintentional. We shall see…

My new boss and I have clashed a ton, but it’s great to be able to sit down and talk with her on a one-to-one basis because we see eye to eye on more things than I would have though going into this review.

2009 – 2010 was a big year for personal development. I’m a vastly different person than I was 3 years ago, and I barely even recognize the person I was 5 years ago.

*It just occurred to me that I’ve reach a more sombre milestone today as well, June 16, 2010 marks the 5-year anniversary of my sexual assault. The man who assaulted me has since been convicted, which was both a huge relief, and incredibly freeing. I don’t think it’s something I’ll ever be able to truly get past, but it’s also not something I think about on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis anymore.

About Nico

I'm not angry all the time, that's just how my face is.

Discussion

One thought on “A Year In Review

  1. you have done so much! you should be proud of yourself, and i can see that you are! good for you girlie! πŸ™‚

    Posted by Heather | June 15, 2010, 9:53 pm

Leave a Reply

twitter she wrote

flickritis

I blog infrequently so you don’t have to

