//
you're reading...
Freebies

A weekend of reviews

First up: Danone’s DanActive Probiotic Drink.

For the purposes of disclosure, I should mention that I got the case of the yogurt drink as a freebie as part of my work as a BzzAgent.

I picked up my case of the yogurt drink yesterday at Safeway, and had my first bottle last night. I picked the Vanilla flavour because the only other flavours they had in store were strawberry and blueberrry, and I figured the vanilla would be the least inoffensive option. I had initially wanted to try the pomegranate-berry, but that wasn’t on shelves.

I should start out by saying that I’m normally not  fan of vanilla yogurt since I usually find it too sweet, and I almost always just buy natural organic yogurt.

The drink isn’t too sweet, there’s a bit of a tart after taste and I would describe the complexity of the flavour as being on par with Kefir, but without the carbonation.

The bottle itself is surprisingly small and lightweight, it could easily be palmed and only contained enough for a couple of big gulps. I was expecting something the size of the Yoplait drinks from my youth.

It is being pitched as a supplement meant to boost your immunity, and supplement your body’s natural defenses. As someone with a really good immune system, I can’t say that I’m necessarily in need of that, but I could stand to eat a more balanced diet.

A quick scan of the nutritional information doesn’t reveal much, as DanActive doesn’t really provide much in the way of vitamins, and seems to be rather high in sugar for a drink so small — at 14 g of sugar, it provides around 15% of your RDI for carbs for the day.

Does it work, only time will tell, but I do know that I slept really well for the first time last night.

For more information, including nutritional fact sheets, check out Danone’s DanActive site.

About Nico

I'm not angry all the time, that's just how my face is.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “A weekend of reviews

  1. I have been thinking about trying this but I most def would have never thought the Vanilla would have been good! I’m with you– I would have went for anything Pomegranate first! 🙂

    Posted by Heather | May 1, 2010, 12:27 pm
  2. Exactly, I do have coupons for interested parties, but unfortunately they’re Canada only. Even though I got my first case for free, I’d definitely purchase it — I just have to track down the elusive pomegranate flavour.

    Give it a try and let me know what you think!

    Posted by Nicoel | May 1, 2010, 12:36 pm

Leave a Reply

twitter she wrote

flickritis

Friday night pie club :strawberry:

XXI

Meta apple crisp

Dat script.

The finished product. Turned out pretty well @TamaraVineberg

More Photos

I blog infrequently so you don’t have to

