//
you're reading...
The Daily Grind

Skin Crawling

I tend to forget to take my (prescription) allergy pills on days that I don’t work mostly because I can get up at a marginally more decent hour and I’m such a creature of habit, that if I’m not up at the right time, my whole day will be thrown off.

The problem with not taking my allergy pills, that I’ve essentially been taking, in varying doses, since high school, is that I’m fine for like a day, and then my skin goes berserk. I’m currently battling a minor rash situation on my ankles (possibly related to opting to go sockless in my driving loafers last weekend — I fully knew what I was setting myself up for on that one so I’ve got no one to blame but myself) and knees (which cropped up after that one day at work where I scraped my knees on what looked like carpet, but I discovered was actually an abrasive Scotchbrite-like pad after I’d fallen to my knees quite ungracefully).

I have sensitive skin, and am allergic to everything (not even kidding here, I’m allergic to the cheap rubber that lines the toe area of Vans shoes and comprises the thong part of cheap flip-flops). Summer is no fun for me, because I never know what potential allergen is lurking around the corner.

I’ve also been going through mad caffeeine withdrawals because my home coffeemaker is broken and not only am I too lazy to walk to the Starbucks downstairs (unless, I’m already headed there. I just refuse to take a separate trip), I’m also too lazy to take a trip to the Future Shop next door. I suspect they might carry coffeemakers, but I’ve only set foot in those doors twice in the three years that I’ve lived here, so I’m not entirely certain.

I had a major headache brewing, but I remembered the coffee press that we’ve got siting on the counter, and I think that should take care of everything.

Last night was the Bedouin Soundclash/Paramore/No Doubt concert, and as expected, it was amazing. Words can’t even begin to describe how giddy being there made me. It was a little awkward at first because I was there with Greg, who is now my ex. Did I mention that we broke up last weekend? Well we did, we’re still on good terms, but going to concerts is such a coupled thing to do, in my opinion at least.

I have a bunch of days off work, though I wish they fell after the August long weekend, because there’s really nothing I want to do, or places I want to go this weekend. Then I’ve got the first half of next week off (from work at least) because I have to take all these first aid classes because I’m the fire marshall at work (it’s an honour being nominated).

Confession: I still haven’t seen the latest Harry Potter movie because my plans with a friend fell through on opening night and I think seeing a huge movie like that by yourself opening week is a little weird. I have no issues with seeing movies or eating dinner alone normally, but opening weekend means you’ll basically have to be sandwiched next to huge groups of people you don’t know – and that’s not my idea of a good time.

The weekend is upon us, and it looks like the weather is going to cooperate for once. We finally turned on the A/C this week, a huge feat since the weather hasn’t consistently been warm enough here yet to justify doing so, hopefully this is the beginning of truly seasonal weather in E-town.

About Nico

I'm not angry all the time, that's just how my face is.

Discussion

One thought on “Skin Crawling

  1. Paramore & No Doubt were INCREDIBLE! I loved them when I saw them on the 10th!

    I hope your skin clears up & the weather stays nice!

    Posted by Heather | July 19, 2009, 6:00 pm

Leave a Reply

twitter she wrote

flickritis

Friday night pie club :strawberry:

XXI

Meta apple crisp

Dat script.

The finished product. Turned out pretty well @TamaraVineberg

More Photos

I blog infrequently so you don’t have to

