//
you're reading...
Retail Therapy, The Daily Grind, Uncategorized

More Than Anything, I’m Looking Forward to Being and Sleeping Alone

In my last post, I erroneously stated that the manfriend was taking off for the remainder of the summer in a few days, which isn’t exactly the case (unless we skipped over the month of July). He’s actually leaving in August, so I’ve still got someone around to send inapproriate texts to, and do my bidding for the next month or so.

I’m looking forward to having three days off this week (even if they’re not consecutive) thanks to Canada Day. I was beginning to think I was just really bad at my job, after a week of really unsatisfactory results despite my best efforts, but I think I just wasn’t used to the completely different pacing and I’m still working on my time-management issues.

My friends Katherine and Iris stopped by the office this week, both were pleasant surprises because I’ve turned into a bit of a relationship-rut hermit and I feel like I spend 90% of my time with Greg and his friends now, and hardly any with mine or by myself.

I took the month off from going out all the time, either to shows, or drinking and I’ve been sleeping better for it, but I’m still way overtired, as evidenced by this weekend’s lethargy and inability to get up before 10 on both Saturday and Sunday. This caused me to be late to a few engagements I had lineup up, but it’s sort of like a tree falling in a forest, because no one seemed to notice, or if they did, they were kind enough to avoid vocalising their judgement.

There are a few shows I’m excited about this month: The Pack A.D. on the 2nd, and Sunset Rubdown on the 3rd, as well as No Doubt/Paramore on the 16th. I haven’t seen Gwen in concert since 2005? and I’ve never seen Paramore, but I’m excited by both. I’m a bigger Paramore fan than I’m willing to admit.

For the first time in a long time I feel really at ease, in all aspects of my life, and it’s kind of refreshing after years of uncertainty with regards to my family, and a job that I loved but ultimately wasn’t nearly challenging enough – it just kept me busy until something better came along.

Is it possible that my quarterlife crisis has been stopped in its tracks by a series of very fortunate events?

On the health front, I’m still losing weight like crazy, I’m down 15-20 lbs from when I started keeping track. It’s to the point where some most of my favourite jeans don’t exactly fit right anymore. Weight loss is kind of a double-edged sword in that way.

I’m going to blame it on the conference calls at work — I pace furiously when I’m on the phone, because I do my best thinking when I’m on the move, and some days those calls make up the bulk of my days.

We’ve got a huge product launch that we’re working on for the Back to School season, and to say that it’s been keeping us busy would be a massive understatement. I fear that the interns are going to burn out.

I’ve pretty much ingratiated myself with everyone at work (at least the ones on the summer skeleton crew) and we’re performing magnificently as a tean now – thus making my job 100x easier.

My style is taking a turn for the preppy, as it tends to do in the summer, as I rediscover my love of all things khaki and polo, and completely eschew looking at weather forecasts in favour of planning outfits regardless of the risk of heat stroke. On most days, I look like an amalgam of a J. Crew catalogue and a RVCA lookbook.

I’m on the hunt for the perfect summer bag, for something casual, I’m looking to a Lacoste tote, but I need something else too because my Stella bag has a tear in the underside that I doubt can be repaired.

If you’ve seen any bags that you think I might like; think big, uniform colour, classic styling, tote or hobo, and fairly tasteful/low-key let me know. I’m willing to consider any suggestions, at this point, price is almost no object.

About Nico

I'm not angry all the time, that's just how my face is.

Discussion

One thought on “More Than Anything, I’m Looking Forward to Being and Sleeping Alone

  1. I am seeing No Doubt next week! I am SO excited! I cannot WAIT! 🙂 WOOT!

    I will keep my eye out for a bag for you. I know how you are about big bags– we kinda are alike that way 😉

    Posted by Heather | June 29, 2009, 11:23 pm

Leave a Reply

twitter she wrote

flickritis

I blog infrequently so you don’t have to

