//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Office Politics

Someone at my new job described me as having a “positive personality” which I find a little confounding, and somewhat hilarious, because if anything I’m the office bitch/a total debbie downer, she just doesn’t know me well enough and I’m still on my best behaviour because it’s my first second week.

I tend to make friends with two very distinct groups in new sitations: the mean girls because I definitely identify with them — and the longer I’m around someone, the more those characteristics tend to bubble to the surface, despite my best intentions, and the office tryhards, because I admire their work ethic, and we tend to mesh on that level.

I’m really good at reading people/situations and ingratiating myself into established groups, and despite my introverted nature, I can make myself appear to be quite outwardly social. If you’ve read Rosalind Wiseman’s Queen Bees and Wannabes, I’m The Banker in the grand scheme of social hierarchy.

I just need to avoid my usual path of self-destruction that comes from befriending the weakest link in the office. I can already see it happening.

About Nico

I'm not angry all the time, that's just how my face is.

Discussion

One thought on “Office Politics

  1. i’m usually with the mean girls too– mainly so i don’t end up with the weak links and be categorized with them. i don’t want to be seen with those who have bad work ethic, when i, myself, don’t have it. make sense?

    hope you like your new job, i have been thinking about you!

    Posted by Heather | June 4, 2009, 8:42 pm

Leave a Reply

twitter she wrote

flickritis

I blog infrequently so you don’t have to

