//
you're reading...
Personal

3 Years

Good things come in threes, or so they say.

The last time I was unemployed, it was entirely by choice. I had all but quit my job at the campus bar, and was only working there on a summer schedule, that is to say mostly just Friday nights for coat check and whenever a good show came up.

I spent the rest of my time firmly ensconced on the couch opposite my roommate Leanne who was also gainfully unemployed at the time. Our unemployment happened to coincide with the launch of MTV Canada , so we were never without something to watch.

We had both worked (a lot) during the school year, so we weren’t in dire need of money or anything, and I was picking up the occasional promo gig to pay my rent/cover my booze and cab expenditures.

Barring one rather shitty experience, that was easily one of the best summers of my university life. My sorority sister/nemesis Amber had announced that she was moving home for the summer much to everyone’s delight, Brandon and I had been dating for so long, that it took me forever to figure out how long it had been and our relationship was solid. Summer night were spent cruising the strip and ended at either our chapter house or on the Phi Delt roof, and Leanne and I had almost nightly bonding sessions.

That was three years ago.

I firmly believe that this time off from working is the best thing that could happen to me right now. I’m always free now, and it’s kind of nice to be able to hang out with friends without the whole work thing looming over my head, I haven’t had to turn down an invitation in weeks.

I could get used to this.

About Nico

I'm not angry all the time, that's just how my face is.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “3 Years

  1. STOP BRAGGING ABOUT BEING OFF ALL THE TIME.

    /rant

    ha ha ha ha.
    okay i feel better.
    basically, i’m just a jealous BITCH.
    😉

    Posted by Heather | March 28, 2009, 9:09 pm
  2. LOL. It’s ok.

    Posted by Nicoel | March 28, 2009, 9:36 pm

Leave a Reply

twitter she wrote

flickritis

Friday night pie club :strawberry:

XXI

Meta apple crisp

Dat script.

The finished product. Turned out pretty well @TamaraVineberg

More Photos

I blog infrequently so you don’t have to

