//
you're reading...
Personal

Missed Connections

I can’t remember if I went to her birthday last year, I got an invitation, but that’s due to the fact that she never unfriended me on facebook after our relationship hit a major speedbump.

I still have the pair of pants I was wearing the last time we went out together – I ripped the crotch open atempting to get into her Jeep.

I got a late-night invitation to my friend Kelly’s birthday party and I’m really excited for this weekend. We stopped being friends because I made a really self-serving decision, that I wouldn’t change given the chance, and ultimately it looked like I thought my job was more important than our friendship in her time of need.

She lost her job, and our friendship was ruined.

A year or so passed, without a word from either camp – our mutual friends respected the rift and we carried on like nothing had happened.

We ended up both going to Britt’s sister’s birthday and reconnecting. I’m giving myself a little too much credit here, since she was the one who stepped up and decided to be the bigger person. She definitely could have called me out for being such a callous bitch – but she let it slide. And I respect that about her.

We don’t hang out like we used to anymore, but our relationship is stronger than ever.

I look forward to out-drinking her on Saturday.

About Nico

I'm not angry all the time, that's just how my face is.

Discussion

One thought on “Missed Connections

  1. i am so excited for you guys. new beginnings are fun! 😀

    Posted by Heather | March 23, 2009, 9:18 pm

Leave a Reply

twitter she wrote

flickritis

I blog infrequently so you don’t have to

