//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Looking Back

It has almost been a full week since my termination at my old job. It’s hard to believe that I spent three years there and it could all come crashing down like a house of cards.

I quickly secured an interview. The phrasing is wrong there, because it makes me sound like I actually went out of my way to get a job, when, in fact, the opportunity fell into my lap. The interviewer pursued me, and I went in for an interview on Thursday.

I thought it went well, but I could have entirely misjudged the situation, because I was so hopped up on allergy pills (amphetamines aren’t your friend) after having weaned myself off them and coffee that I was practically vibrating, and sweating more than I’d care to admit.

The interviewer and I seemed to mesh, and the words that poured out of my mouth were like music to his ears. He made it sound like I would definitely make it to the next round of interviews, so I patted myself on the back and trotted home for a victory nap (as victory drinks are kind of out of the question since I’m trying to only spend money on the necessities until I secure employment).

I distinctly recalled him saying something to the effect of calling successful candidates later that evening for confirmation but I fell asleed and 7:30 rolled around and I woke up in a panic, my laptop perched on my chest, sweat beading on my forehead.

I remembered that I still had a set of office keys for my old job and got out of bed to make my way down there to return them. I also had a ton of stuff kicking around because I hadn’t had the time on Monday to pick it up. I grabbed about 3 years worth of odds and ends and fill out my final payroll sheet.

It was weird being back, but at lest I got to say bye to some of my fvourite staff members and let them know that I was doing fine, and not to be worried. I assured them that I would stop by if I was ever in the neighbourhood and made my way to the parking lot. It seemed like a lot of snow had melted in the 30 minutes I spent inside, but maybe I’m just going crazy.

I checked my phone because it vibrated and I realised that I’d missed a call. I made it to the second round, and I have another interview on Monday.

Huzzah!

About Nico

I'm not angry all the time, that's just how my face is.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Looking Back

  1. I’ m excited for you– Lots of good things are coming, I Just know it!! 😀

    Posted by Heather | March 14, 2009, 9:20 am
  2. Thanks H! It’s hard to keep the faith at times like this, but I appreciate your thoughts.

    Posted by Nicoel | March 14, 2009, 12:50 pm

Leave a Reply

twitter she wrote

flickritis

I blog infrequently so you don’t have to

