//
you're reading...
Personal, The Daily Grind

The Latest Victim of the Recession

So, good news/bad news.

I was just laid off. It was all very expected and had, frankly, been in the works for quite some time so it was more a matter of when and not if. It’s really shitty, but I’m trying to make the best of the situation.

I’m not going to lie and pretend like I’ve been super amped at work for the past couple of months. I love my job, and the people there, but I’ve had a few notable clashes with the higher ups, but I’d like to think my determinism, and the fact that I’m really good at my job and refuse to back down were what led my boss to offer me a position, either from home or Head Office doing some promo work from the company (probably mostly blogging).

Either way my hours are going to be greatly reduced and I’m probably going to have to seek out some other viable means of employment.

Now for the good news, aside from me still having a minor trickle of income: After 2 years and 10 months (almost to the day) at my current job, I’m definitely in need of a change and this is the push that I need to shake things up. That, and the fact that I will no longer have any excuse whatsoever to not get in ridiculously good shape (especially if I’m going to be working from home).

I’m still in shock, but I don’t know if I’m nervous because I’m sort of happy because this is what I wanted all along, but was too scared to ask for, or because it hasn’t really set it.

Blogged with the Flock Browser
About Nico

I'm not angry all the time, that's just how my face is.

Discussion

One thought on “The Latest Victim of the Recession

  1. I’m really sorry to hear about this honey. But I will keep my fingers crossed that this new direction you’re going is the right fit for you.
    xo

    Posted by Heather | March 10, 2009, 8:55 pm

Leave a Reply

twitter she wrote

flickritis

I blog infrequently so you don’t have to

