//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Part of a bigger trend of saying nothing in as many words as possible

All of my friends are in the midst of getting over a wretched plague, so I’m staying far, far away. It’s nothing personal, but I just don’t like getting sick. I have a pretty decent immune system, but I’ve been hella stressed and not sleeping at all lately, so I could easily succumb.

I’ve never had the chicken pox, despite my parents’ valiant attempts at exposing me to the contagion, and I’ve only ever had the flu twice, both times resulting in week-long hospital visits – not cool. Save for my yearly bouts of strep/tonsilitis, I’m disease-free and intend on keeping it that way.

I finally got around to seeing “He’s Just Not That Into You” with the ex-fling/boytoy, Greg, and it was OK. I was expecting worse, especially after the disappointment of “Bride Wars” (easily the biggest piece of crap I’ve subjected myself to in recent memory). It was cute, but it was kind of a downer too. I really can’t stand Drew Barrymore (and this is a recent revelation), Justin Long (seriously, who did he fuck to get that role – acting is just not your thing, son) or Ginnifer Goodwin so that ruined half the movie for me but I love Scarlett Johansson, Bradley Cooper, and Jennifer Connelly and that made up for it. Jennifer Aniston and Ben Affleck as both really tepid, neither good, nor bad, so I’m indifferent to their presence in general.

I’m always surprised at just how drawn out and much longer than necessary movies are these days (really, none of these stories are all that compelling) but I suppose it’s part of a bigger trend of saying nothing in as many words as possible.

Overall, it’s a movie worth seeing. The cute parts definitely overshadow the annoying ones, and I don’t think it’s what you’re expecting it to be, so go in with an open mind.

In other (unrelated) news: I’ve fallen off the wagon in terms of going to the gym this week so I’m letting myself slide into Sunday guilt-free. Monday is a clean slate day.

Blogged with the Flock Browser
About Nico

I'm not angry all the time, that's just how my face is.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Part of a bigger trend of saying nothing in as many words as possible

  1. i wonder if movies are ridiculously long because people have to pay a shit ton of money to see one now. HAH.

    i remember when movies were like, $4.50 ! 😀

    Posted by Heather | March 1, 2009, 4:54 pm
  2. justin long and drew barrymore were dating for a long time.
    THAT’S who he fucked 😉

    Posted by andrea | March 1, 2009, 8:45 pm
  3. @andrea – It’s all coming together now – she was the executive producer…

    Posted by Nicoel | March 1, 2009, 9:25 pm

Leave a Reply

twitter she wrote

flickritis

I blog infrequently so you don’t have to

