//
you're reading...
The Daily Grind

Job Security

I’m starting to feel a little insecure at my job. I love it, and I’m definitely up for the challenges that this next quarter will inevitably bring, but sometime I feel like my boss has his head in the sand when it comes to the current economy and what that means for our current and prospective clients.

This past week was basically do-or-die time for me, and to be honest, I’m not exactly sure how I fared (which probably isn’t a good thing). I’ve never felt so out of touch with work but I suppose it’s out of my hands.

I’d really prefer to not have to look for a new job so that I can pay my exorbitant condo fees, but maybe it would be the push I need to apply to Grad Schools.

I think my parents really want me to choose a school closer to home, ideally McGill, since I opted to go elsewhere for my undergrad. McGill is a bit of a family tradition – everyone goes there. We have a building named after a prominent family member there to boot, so no pressure, right?

Under normal circumstances I’d be amped for the chance to prove my worth, but having to testify earlier this week kind of put a damper on my spirits and I’ve been in an unshakable funk for the past couple of days.

The looming threat of unemployment is the last thing I need.

About Nico

I'm not angry all the time, that's just how my face is.

Discussion

One thought on “Job Security

  1. i feel you on the unemployment thing. it’s ridiculous how the economy is right now.

    don’t you worry about grad school choices– take this week to just kind of relax for a bit. and, knowing you, you’ll go wherever you want, whether that’s McGill or elsewhere 😉

    Posted by Heather | February 3, 2009, 9:47 am

Leave a Reply

twitter she wrote

flickritis

I blog infrequently so you don’t have to

