//
you're reading...
The Daily Grind

Haves and Have Nots

I’m reminded, almost on a daily basis, that I led a privileged life as a kid. It’s something that I didn’t always recognize but I’m conscious of now.

It seems I can’t tell a story that isn’t dripping with privilege.

You worked at an ice cream shop? Oh, we had an ice cream maker.

You don’t know how to swim? I had to learn, otherwise sailing camp wouldn’t have been an option.

You like horses? I used to ride. I actually owned a horse (though that is a long and tragic tale) but I gave it up because my allergies got to be too bad.

I don’t mean to do it, and I definitely can’t help how I was raised, but I hate feeling guilty because she feels that I’m ramming my (perceived) wealth down her throat. We had two very different upbringings.

The thing is, she’s in the minority. It just sucks being the odd man out – it’s just especially hard to be (comparatively) poor when you work in fashion.

Blogged with the Flock Browser
About Nico

I'm not angry all the time, that's just how my face is.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Haves and Have Nots

  1. I like to remind myself that I’ve lived a privileged life so far especially since it really had nothing to do with me.
    It gives a good perspective on life.
    I don’t approve of people berating me for it though. If someone actually snipes at me about being spoiled, I can cut them off easily and truthfully.
    Because they are damned privileged too. Maybe not comparatively but I don’t see them scrounging for food in a refugee camp.
    We are all very very lucky. Maybe some are more lucky than others but that shouldn’t lessen the fact that everyone is. Trying to make you feel guilty about something like that is silly.

    Posted by girlslashwoman | January 8, 2009, 2:22 am
    • I wholeheartedly agree, I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one who can plainly see that we are all privileged in one way or another in the grand scheme of things.

      Posted by Nicoel | January 8, 2009, 7:21 am
  2. I agree, we ARE all privileged in one way or another, however; I grew up with everything I could want and more, with not an ounce of love, and if I could go back and be poor, but have a house of love, I would do so in a heartbeat. Whoever said “Money doesn’t buy happiness” is RIGHT on.

    Posted by Heather | January 9, 2009, 8:03 am
  3. No, money certainly doesn’t buy happiness, but it can get you comfort and stability. After I had completely renounced my family and refused to take a single penny, I was totally broke, working myself to the bone.

    I was also probably the thinnest I’d ever been (until recently, that is), definitely the poorest, and I was absolutely miserable.

    Everything I have now is something I’ve earned and striven for.

    I would never go so far as to say my parents didn’t love me, rather that they had a really strange way of showing it and that the love was disproportionately allocated to times of convenience, rather than times of actual need.

    That being said, I wouldn’t give it up for the world. I’m glad I was able to experience all that I did at such a young age. My young life wasn’t devoid of love, it just came from alternative sources.

    Posted by Nicoel | January 9, 2009, 8:22 am

Leave a Reply

twitter she wrote

flickritis

I blog infrequently so you don’t have to

