//
you're reading...
Personal

It’s not the thought that counts – if you had put any thought into it you would have bought me something that I actually wanted.

I was talking to my mother, via email, and she mentioned that she had sent me Christmas gifts which I loosely interpreted as an obscenely large cheque or something completely out of the blue that she figured (erroneously) that I would like.

I don’t know when it got here, but there was a small package on the counter when I got home. I fugred she sent me a couple of books, etc but the package is clearly marked as a CD and that it’s fragile. Then I quickly adjusted my theory and guessed a photo album on CD? It’s random enough that it’s very likely.

I open it and I flip the CD case over (is it a gift certificate?) and it hits me. I feel like I’m back in high school, and lamenting that my parent’s don’t even know who I am.

It’s a CD, and a cheque – that will join the other uncashed cheques on my dresser because I can’t cash them until a thank you note is in the mail. The CD? Bob Marley and The Wailers: Greatest Hits.

Awesome, I absolutely despise Bob Marley, always have.

At least she had the sense to incude a gift receipt.

Blogged with the Flock Browser
About Nico

I'm not angry all the time, that's just how my face is.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “It’s not the thought that counts – if you had put any thought into it you would have bought me something that I actually wanted.

  1. sigh.

    i feel that way when i’m at my dads house. my stepmom is hopeless when it comes to picking out stuff for me, even if i give them both an exact list of what i want, i still get things that must be taken back/shoved in a drawer for re-gifting.

    it’s sad, really.

    Posted by Heather | January 7, 2009, 1:34 pm

Leave a Reply

twitter she wrote

flickritis

I blog infrequently so you don’t have to

