//
you're reading...
Personal

My voice is completely shot, and I have to run a staff meeting today

Sometimes, usually after a self-imposed detox from my prescription allergy meds, I decide that Ive made a mistake and I need to get back on them. My allergies are usually at a manageable level in the dead of winter that I can go off them for 2 months or so which is great because it means that I actually have a chance in hell of sleeping more than three hours a night and I’m less prone to sporadic fits of anger (apparently this makes me more pleasant to be around? Whatever, consider it a free preview of what I’ll be like during menopause)

I get kinda shitty side effects (hot flashes, moods swings, dry mouth, insomnia) but they’re better than being completely bed-ridden, and covered in hives unable to work 9 months of the year.

Of course I had a ton of work to catch up on today, stuff that needs to get done before our distributors close for two weeks over the holidays so I went in to work today (for 14 hours, awesome!) to tie up all the loose ends and prepare for the host of trade shows in Jan/Feb.

Somehow, over the course of the day, my boos got the distinct idea that I’m terrible at my job/bad at life and I don’t really put enough effort in. Since when is working 75 hours a week considered slacking?

Today was also the day that I started up my drug cocktail and by 1:30 I was beyond queasy but also, sweating freakishly and coughing uncontrollably. It felt like the beginnings of an asthma attack so I took it upon myself to hit the bathroom and take lunch (it’s my weekend, and I’ll do as I please).

I’ve never been reamed out over something so insignificant in my life. My job was threatened, blah, blah, blah. The whole big bad wolf routine played out before my eyes and I was simply too tired and sick to even bother fronting that I gave a fuck. I gave him a look that dared him to fire me on the spot (more time for drinking, yo) and we parted ways. He came in a few mroe times over the course of the afternoon and evening, but never really made eye contact – possibly because he was ashamed that he was such a dick about something pretty minor in the grand scheme of things.

Anyway, when I go back on my meds, it makes my throat really dry and eventually I lose my voice because talking exacerbates the whole dry throat situation and that’s where I am right now. I sound deathly ill, but I’m just fine.

(cross-posted on tumblr)

Blogged with the Flock Browser
About Nico

I'm not angry all the time, that's just how my face is.

Discussion

One thought on “My voice is completely shot, and I have to run a staff meeting today

  1. i hope your boss felt like a fucking tool. i feel like you’re ALWAYS at work, going to work, or leaving work after a 14 hour day. i hope your voice comes back and you start to feel “normal”.

    Posted by Heather | December 14, 2008, 11:47 pm

Leave a Reply

twitter she wrote

flickritis

I blog infrequently so you don’t have to

