//
you're reading...
About Me

Voice Recognition

I have a really hard time differentiating people’s voices on the phone. Almost everyone sounds the same to me, so when people call, and immediately start talking without first pausing to state who it is, about a million things rush through my head as I try to both keep up with the conversation, while not letting on that I have no clue who it is, and figure out who I’m speaking with right away.

I’m pretty professional on the phone as a result, not snappy “Hey Bitch”es from me, because I never can be too sure just who is on the other line. Yeah, I’ve got caller ID, but if I’m at work, a lot of times I’ll recognize a friend’s number but they’ll be calling from a cell so a name won’t pop up.

I used to mock my Mom for beginning her voicemail messages with “Hi Nicoel, this is your mother speaking” but maybe she knows me better than I know myself and has adapted to my inability to pick up on voices over the phone?

Blogged with the Flock Browser
About Nico

I'm not angry all the time, that's just how my face is.

Discussion

One thought on “Voice Recognition

  1. i actually find myself saying, “who is this” before i even let them start talking.

    my friends hate that.
    but eh, it saves me the embarrassment.

    right?

    Posted by Heather | December 6, 2008, 11:33 pm

Leave a Reply

twitter she wrote

flickritis

I blog infrequently so you don’t have to

