//
you're reading...
Retail Therapy

Affordable Luxuries

I bought this wristlet at the Coach store today. I’m not huge on Coach for a variety of reasons, but I’ve been pleased with every single one of their products thus far, so when it came time to replace my aging wristlet (I got it around Christmas last year), I figured it was worth a shot.

I hadn’t really planned on buying anything, but I had time to kill on my lunch hour (and money to burn apparently). Fueled by far too many energy drinks, I made my way to their West Edmonton store (which apparently isn’t a flagship location – pity, perhaps they would have attracted better staff).

I paced around the store, taking in my surroundings, and marking a well-worn path on the plush carpet. Not a single sales associate made an effort to talk to me. I was dressed in my weekday finest – a standard outfit of a cardigan, unbuttoned of course, rinse skinnies, worn in slip on loafers, and a Coal Frena beanie perched precariously on the back of my head.

I surveyed the offerings and quickly circled back to the first one that had caught my eye. I was on a bit of a deadline, I had to get back to work, and I didn’t really want to run into my nemesis/sorority sister who is employed there, but had the day off.

As soon as I was at the register it was as if the heat had kicked in and the icy chill of their glares was quickly replaced with artificial warmth – it was like sitting in front of a gas fireplace; it’ll do in a pinch, but it’s nothing like the real thing.

Funny how I wasn’t worth the effort until I was in a position to buy something.

Appearances are deceiving.

and that is why I’ll continue to buy my Coach wares at Holt Renfrew, instead of the Coach store. You’d think that with the economic downturn, they’d approach every customer as a potential cash cow.

About Nico

I'm not angry all the time, that's just how my face is.

Discussion

One thought on “Affordable Luxuries

  1. Our Coach store is ridiculous too. You’d think in todays fledgling economy that those bitches would be swarming whoever enters their store. Because honestly, I don’t know about you, but the only people who come in our store are the ones who can afford to shop there. So why be bitchy? It really pisses me off.

    Sigh. I wanna see your new wristlet, though!

    Posted by Heather | November 25, 2008, 6:17 pm

Leave a Reply

twitter she wrote

flickritis

I blog infrequently so you don’t have to

