//
you're reading...
The Daily Grind

Murder on the Menu

Every morning, at least when I’m working late (normally I run out of the house running late despite the fact that I’ve been up for at least two hours before I have to leave, doing nothing) I get up, go to the gym or do yoga then I shower and eat breakfast – which usually just consists of several industrial-sized mugs of strong coffee and yogurt – in front of the TV, more specifically three solid hours of Cold Case Files, American Justice and CSI.

I was talking to my friend on the phone this morning and I thinkthe repeated gun shots in the background piqued his interest because he asked me where I was. I explained my morbid little ritual to him and he kind of chuckled and muttered something to the effect of ‘typical’. I suppose to the average reader, this seems a bit macabre to say the least but I come from a family of pathologists and other medical professionals so this is just par for the course*.

Then sometime around 11 I get distracted by the prospect of what I’m going to wear to work that day and I spend approximately the next hour or so trying on different shirts, finding pants I had forgotten I owned (black DC skinnies!) and generally avoiding getting ready until the last possible second – coinciding my picking of an outfit with the opening theme of Crossing Jordan and my putting on of makeup/brushing of teeth with the commercial breaks.

I should really be planning an outfit for Sunday night, something that will revolve around my new shoes but we’ll burn that bridge once we get there…

*Not a single holiday-themed gathering went by as a child without some mention of the latest case theory and case studies from the medical journals, to which they all subscribed.

About Nico

I'm not angry all the time, that's just how my face is.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Murder on the Menu

  1. You are so disciplined with your morning routine! Jealous!

    Posted by Valley Girl | December 21, 2007, 6:24 pm
  2. Lazy mornings are the reason I loved working swing shift during my nursing career. I still hate getting up in the morning before 9.

    Posted by Pand0ra Wilde | December 21, 2007, 9:47 pm
  3. vg – I have to be, if I stop I start making excuses and then it never gets done.pandora – I can’t really sleep in anyways so I’m up… Besides, I like being alone with my thoughts (and my coffee) in the morning

    Posted by team gingerbread | December 22, 2007, 12:41 am
  4. Oh, and this is a BlogMad hit–voted while I was here too πŸ™‚

    Posted by Pand0ra Wilde | December 23, 2007, 11:29 pm

Leave a Reply

twitter she wrote

flickritis

Friday night pie club :strawberry:

XXI

Meta apple crisp

Dat script.

The finished product. Turned out pretty well @TamaraVineberg

More Photos

I blog infrequently so you don’t have to

