//
you're reading...
Music

IOU/Loud Claps in Every Mix


I went to the Metric show on Wednesday, not because I’m a terribly big fan of theirs – well I used to be until I saw them in concert about 20 times and Emily Haines’ staged pseudo-feminist ramblings about whatever kind of turned me off the music.

This doesn’t even have anything to do with whether or not I support feminism (I do in case you’re wondering) but more to do with the fact that I didn’t come here to see her posturing about something that no one asked her about. I paid for the show so that I could hear you play music from your two (full-length) albums and that EP that everyone seems to gloss over that I’ve worn out that’s how much I’ve listened to them.

This is a live music event people – be excited and entertain me!

That and Metric is kind of a one-trick pony when it comes to performing – you’ve seen them 20 times and, well, you know the rest.

At this point I’m willing to stage my own Metric shows in my apartment: cover will be 29.50 + surcharges, I’ll bring my IKEA lamps for light, play the albums on shuffle on iTunes and randomly sample in some classic Kathleen Hanna speeches for effect – it’ll be super sick.

—-

Then I was talked into going to DJ Z-Trip at The Starlite but I just couldn’t get into his set. I was far more engaged by the opener, so I peaced out pretty early, much to everyone’s confusion as they just seemed to eating it up.

But I just had to call it quits.

*In a completely unrelated note, why did Blogger feel the need to reverse the positions of the ‘save’ and ‘publish’ buttons?

About Nico

I'm not angry all the time, that's just how my face is.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

twitter she wrote

flickritis

Friday night pie club :strawberry:

XXI

Meta apple crisp

Dat script.

The finished product. Turned out pretty well @TamaraVineberg

More Photos

I blog infrequently so you don’t have to

